What is an academic year in a University ? What are the highlights of an academic year? When are the exams held?

20180329 faculte philospohie lettres traduction interpretation bibliotheque livre travail lecture brixhe 158

The academic year is divided into three terms that each cover roughly four months. Learning activites are spread out over the first two terms with the exception of certain assessments or vocational integration activities.

Depending on the programme, the pace and schedules can be quite variable: sometimes quite full, sometimes less so, but with off-peak hours to take advantage of and lots of work to be done, for exemple, at home or in groups. University studies thus require great autonomy and good organization: managing and using one's time efficiently, all while preserving one's motivation and balance between work and leisure. To allow everyone to best adapt to these changes, the University of Liège offers several activities before the start of the academic year and throughout the training path.

Supporting your studies

The academic calendar

 

 

 

The academic year 2020-2021


For the Faculties of Philosophy and Letters ; School of Engineering ; Veterinary Medicine ; Psychology, Speech and Language Therapy, and Education ; HEC Management School-ULiège ; Social Sciences ; Gembloux Agro-Bio TEch and Architecture : Variety 1

For the Faculties of Law ; Political Science and Criminology ; Sciences and Medicine : Variety 2

 

  Autumn term Spring term summer term
Teaching
activities
from Monday 14 September to Saturday 19 December 2020

Variety 1:

from Monday 1 February to Saturday 15 May 2021

Variety 2:

From Monday 8 February to Saturday 22 mai 2021

/
Holidays from Monday 21 December 2020 to Saturday 2 January 2021 from Monday 5 April to Saturday 17 April 2021 from Thusrday 1 July to Saturday 14 August 2021
Exam period

Variety 1:

from Monday 4 January to Saturday 23 January 2021

Variety 2:

from Monday 4 January to Saturday 30 January 2021

Variety 1:

from Tuesday 25 May to Saturday 26 June 2021

Variety 2:

from Monday 31 May to Saturday 26 June 2021

from Monday 16 August to Monday 13 September 2021
Leave

Variety 1:

from Monday 25 January to Saturday 30 January 2021

Variety 2:

from Monday 1 February to Saturday 6 February 2021

Variety 1:

from Monday 17 May to Saturday 22 May 2021

Variety 2:

from Tuesday 25 May to Saturday 29 May 2021

/

 

Public holidays

University activities are suspended on:

  • Sundays
  • Monday 2 November 2020
  • Wednesday 11 November 2020
  • Tuesday 16 February 2021 (Shrove Tuesday)
  • Saturday 1 May 2021 (Labour Day)
  • Thursday 13 May 2021 (Ascension Day)
  • Monday 24 May 2021 (Whit Monday)

* Interfaculty courses will be organised and assessed during the overlapping period between the two varieties.

** Depending on the specific circumstances of the Faculties, practical work may take place during the Spring break.

** Following established practice, deliberations, dissertations / personal work and integration activities may take place up until the end of the first full week of July (i.e. 10/07/2021).

 

The academic year 2021-2022

iconeDownload  Print version

  Autumn term Spring term Summer term
Teaching
activities
from Tuesday 14 September to Saturday 18 December 2021 from Monday 7 February to Saturday 28 May 2022 at the latest /
Holidays from Monday 20 December 2021 to Saturday 1 January 2022 from Monday 11 April to Monday 18 April 20221 from Friday 1 July to Monday 15 August 2022
Exam period from Monday 3 January to Saturday 29 January 2022 from the Monday 30 May to Thursday 30 Juny 20222,3 from Tuesday 16 August to Saturday 10 September 2022
Leave from Monday 31 January to Saturday 5 February 2022 / /

 

Public holidays

University activities are suspended on :

  • Sundays
  • Monday 27 September 2021
  • Monday 1 November 2021
  • Thursday 11 November 2021
  • Tuesday 1 March 2022
  • Monday 18 April 2022
  • Thursday 26 May 2022
  • Monday 6 Juny 2022

1. Possibility to conduct “TP” and “field work” teaching: from Monday 4 April to Saturday 9 April 2022.

2. A “block” week should be planned before the start of the exam session.

3. As is customary, deliberations, individual dissertations/pieces of work and integration activities may take place until the end of the first full week of July (09/07/2022).


Share this page