How is the academic year broken down? What are the highlights of an academic year? When are the exams held?

année académique

The academic year is divided into three terms that each cover roughly four months. Learning activites are spread out over the first two terms with the exception of certain assessments or vocational integration activities.

Depending on the programme, the pace and schedules can be quite variable: sometimes quite full, sometimes less so, but with off-peak hours to take advantage of and lots of work to be done, for exemple, at home or in groups. University studies thus require great autonomy and good organization: managing and using one's time efficiently, all while preserving one's motivation and balance between work and leisure. To allow everyone to best adapt to these changes, the University of Liège offers several activities before the start of the academic year and throughout the training path.

Aids for success

The academic calendar

 

 

 

The academic year 2018-2019

 

  Fall semester Spring semester summer semester
Teaching
activities
from Friday 14th September to Saturday 22nd December 2018 from Monday 4th February to Saturday 11th May 2019 /
Holidays from Monday 24th December 2018 to Saturday 5th January 2019 from Monday 8th April to Monday 22nd April 2019 included from Monday 1st July to Thursday 15th August 2019
Exam period from Monday 7th January to Saturday 26th January 2019 from Monday 13th May to Saturday 29th June 2019 from Friday 16th August to Friday 13th September 2019
Leave from Monday 28th January to Saturday 2nd February 2019 / /

Leave

University activities are suspended :

  • on Sundays
  • on Thursday 27th September 2018
  • on Thursday 1st, Friday 2nd November and Saturday 3 November 2018
  • on Monday 4th and Tuesday th5 March 2019 (Monday of, and "Mardi gras"), in accordance with common practice
  • on Wednesday 1st of May 2019 (Labor Day)
  • on Thursday 30th Mei 2019 (Ascension Day)
  • on Monday 10th June 2019 (Whit Monday)
  • on Thursday 15th August 2019 (Assumption)

Share this page