How is the academic year broken down? What are the highlights of an academic year? When are the exams held?

année académique

The academic year is divided into three terms that each cover roughly four months. Learning activites are spread out over the first two terms with the exception of certain assessments or vocational integration activities.

Depending on the programme, the pace and schedules can be quite variable: sometimes quite full, sometimes less so, but with off-peak hours to take advantage of and lots of work to be done, for exemple, at home or in groups. University studies thus require great autonomy and good organization: managing and using one's time efficiently, all while preserving one's motivation and balance between work and leisure. To allow everyone to best adapt to these changes, the University of Liège offers several activities before the start of the academic year and throughout the training path.

Aids for success

The academic calendar

 

 

The academic year 2019-20201,2

iconeDownloadPrint version

 

  Autumn term Spring term summer term
Teaching
activities
from Monday 16 September to Saturday 21 December 2019 from Monday 3 February to Saturday 9 May 2020 /
Holidays from Monday 23 December 2019 to Saturday 4 January 2020 from Monday 6 April to Saturday 18 April 2020 from Wednesday 1 July to Saturday 15 August 2020
Exam period from Monday 6 January to Saturday 25 January 2020 from Monday 11 May to Tuesday 30 June 20203 from Monday 17 August to Saturday 12 September 2020
Leave from Monday 27 January to Saturday 1 February 2020 / /


Public holidays

University activities are suspended on:

  • Sundays
  • Friday 27 September 2019
  • Thursday 31 October, Friday 1 November and Saturday 2 November 2019
  • Monday 11 November 2019
  • Monday 24 and Tuesday 25 February 2020 (Shrove Monday and Shrove Tuesday), in accordance with common practice
  • Friday 1 May 2020 (Labour Day)
  • Thursday 21 May 2020 (Ascension Day)
  • Monday 1 June 2020 (Whit Monday)

1. All assessments with examination status must take place during the periods determined by the Board of Directors.

2. An exemption can be granted to Faculties for certain years of study upon the Faculty’s motivated request.

3. Following established practice, deliberations, dissertations/personal work and integration activities may take place until the end of the first full week of July (11/07/2020).

 

 

The academic year 2020-20211,2


For the Faculties of Philosophy and Letters ; School of Engineering ; Veterinary Medicine ; Psychology, Speech and Language Therapy, and Education ; HEC Management School-ULiège ; Social Sciences ; Gembloux Agro-Bio TEch and Architecture : Variety 1

For the Faculties of Law ; Political Science and Criminology ; Sciences and Medicine : Variety 2

 

  Autumn term Spring term summer term
Teaching
activities
from Monday 14 September to Saturday 19 December 2020

Variety 1:

from Monday 1 February to Saturday 15 May 2021

Variety 2:

From Monday 8 February to Saturday 22 mai 2021

/
Holidays from Monday 21 December 2020 to Saturday 2 January 2021 from Monday 5 April to Saturday 17 April 2021 from Thusrday 1 July to Saturday 14 August 2021
Exam period3

Variety 1:

from Monday 4 January to Saturday 23 January 2021

Variety 2:

from Monday 4 January to Saturday 30 January 2021

Variety 1:

from Tuesday 25 May to Saturday 26 June 2021

Variety 2:

from Monday 31 May to Saturday 26 June 2021

from Monday 16 August to Monday 13 September 2021
Leave

Variety 1:

from Monday 25 January to Saturday 30 January 2021

Variety 2:

from Monday 1 February to Saturday 6 February 2021

Variety 1:

from Monday 17 May to Saturday 22 May 2021

Variety 2:

from Tuesday 25 May to Saturday 29 May 2021

/

 

Public holidays

University activities are suspended on:

  • Sundays
  • Monday 2 November 2020
  • Wednesday 11 November 2020
  • Tuesday 16 February 2021 (Shrove Tuesday)
  • Saturday 1 May 2021 (Labour Day)
  • Thursday 13 May 2021 (Ascension Day)
  • Monday 24 May 2021 (Whit Monday)

* Interfaculty courses will be organised and assessed during the overlapping period between the two varieties.

** Au vu des spécificités facultaires, des TP pourront se dérouler durant les vacances de printemps. (text is awaiting translation)

** Following established practice, deliberations, dissertations / personal work and integration activities may take place up until the end of the first full week of July (i.e. 10/07/2021).

Share this page